Blues Backers

Washburn Rural High School mascot
Become a Blues Backer

Support your students at WRHS by becoming a member of the WRHS PTO.

Who are we?

Blues Backers is the parent-teacher organization at Washburn Rural High School. Our purpose is to work closely with the administration at the school to support the students as well as show appreciation for the hard work of the teachers and staff. This is accomplished through volunteer time and financial support in various ways.

Blues Backers are responsible for organizing and executing a number of events and activities:

  • Hosting post-prom each year.
  • Fulfilling funding requests from extra-curricular activities (sports, clubs, activities).
  • Providing concessions at events.
  • Providing hospitality lounge at school-hosted events.
  • Student achievement recognition.
  • Hosting teacher appreciation events.
  • Volunteering at school dances/events.

Blues Backers fundraising efforts include:

  • Membership fees.
  • Operation of concession stands.
  • Selling school spirit merchandise.

Get Involved

There are many ways to get involved and support the Blues Backers and thus Washburn Rural students. The first step is to join online, at walk-in registration, at the PTO merchandising booth at games, or by mail. After that, there are many ways to be involved.

  • Attend the board meetings
    Second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 PM in the library. You could even head a committee.
  • Volunteer your time
    at the concession stand, merchandising booth, post-prom, hospitality booth, coat check at prom, etc.
  • Donations of any kind
    We provide paper products for several student events/banquets, prizes for post-prom, food for teacher appreciation luncheons, etc.
  • Buy PTO merchandise
    at registration and various games.

Any and all contributions are appreciated and needed. Please join Blues Backers and help support your student(s) at Washburn Rural.

Board Members

Position Name Email
Co-President Ann Rausch nnacsuar|ten.734dsu
Co-President Jenny Lang 4gnalnej|moc.liamg
Secretary Erinn Bradstreet 1resdarb|ten.734dsu
Treasurer Angie Bachelor egnarolehcab|ten.xoc
Activities/Athletics Penny Lane nepenal|ten.734dsu
Concessions Fall Chair TBA  
Concessions Winter Chair TBA  
Concessions Spring Chair TBA  
Concessions Purchasing Angie Rea 1aer.a|ten.xoc
Concessions Drinks Ann Rausch nnacsuar|ten.734dsu
Concessions Finance Kelly Pert trepyllek|moc.liamg
Concessions Scheduling Jenny Howard nejrawoh|ten.734dsu
Newsletter Chair Erinn Bradstreet 1resdarb|ten.734dsu
Membership Chair Kelly Pert trepyllek|moc.liamg
Post Prom Michelle DeWeese eseewedmb|ten.labolgcbs
Merchandise Chair TBA  
Staff Appreciation Barb Alstrom rabrtsla|ten.734dsu
Hospitality Chair TBA  
Social Media Kelly Pert trepyllek|moc.liamg