Board of Education

Members of the Auburn-Washburn Board of Education are patrons who voluntarily serve the community. Meetings are generally held the first and third Monday of each month (except holidays) at 6:30 PM. Meetings are currently held at Shuler Education Center and are open to the public to the extent possible under Shawnee County Health Department guidelines.

The Board encourages input from the community, and provides an open forum at the beginning of each regular meeting. There will be no dialog on issues raised during the open forum. If you wish to have more time for open discussion, topics may be placed on the agenda with a ten-day advance notice.

For additional information, please contact:

Amanda Tituana Feijoo
Board Clerk
Phone: 339-4031


Michael White
Michael White, 6C

Michael White joined the Board in 2018.

Current Term 2018-2022.

Jacquie Lightcap
Jacquie Lightcap, 4A
Vice President

Ms. Jacqueline Lightcap joined the Board in 2018. She serves on the Personnel, Strategic Planning, and Capital Outlay Committees and with the Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation.

Ms. Lightcap received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Public Relations from Oklahoma Baptist University and currently works with the League of Women Voters of Kansas.

Lightcap was born and raised in Kansas, graduating from Topeka West High School. She lives in Topeka with her husband, Torey, and their two children, Gabriel and Annie.

Current Term 2018-2022.

Tom Bruno
Tom Bruno, At-Large

Mr. Tom Bruno has served on the Board since 2014. He serves on the Negotiations and Strategic Planning Committees.

Mr. Bruno received his Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Washburn University. He owns Bruno & Associates, Inc., a public affairs firm located in Topeka, KS.

Bruno is a graduate of Washburn Rural High School and attended both Wanamaker Elementary and Jay Shideler Junior High. He lives in Topeka with his wife Shawna and their daughters Blake, Olivia, and Ava.

Current Term 2020-2024.

Tara Dimick
Tara Dimick, 3C

Tara Dimick received her BA and MBA from Washburn University. She is the Chief Business Development Officer for Envista Credit Union and the owner of TK Business Magazine.

Dimick lives in Topeka with her husband Braden and their children Hope, Cordell, and Harmony.

Current Term 2020-2024.

Matthew Ewald
Matthew Ewald, 2B

Matthew Ewald joined the Board in 2019

Current Term 2020-2024.

David Hines
David Hines, 1A

Mr. David Hines joined the Board in 2011. He serves on the Construction Review Committee and with the Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation.

Mr. Hines received his Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Central Oklahoma with degrees in Accounting and Finance.

Hines has lived in Topeka for more than ten years with his wife, Loretta, and their daughters, Avery and Olivia.

Current Term 2020-2024.

Bryan Smith
Bryan Smith, 5B

Bryan Smith joined the Board in 2018.

Current Term 2018-2022.


Normal Board of Education terms run for four years and expire in January. Please contact the Shawnee County Election Office for more information about Board of Education elections.