2017 Inductees

Brett Durbin

Since graduating from WRHS, Durbin has earned Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Criminal Justice from Washburn University and a Master of Arts in Christian Leadership from Asbury Theological Seminary. In 2008, while serving as a college pastor in Lakeland, Florida, Brett, and his wife Jaelle (also WRHS alumni), jumped on a plane to Honduras in search of a worthy cause to bring back to their church, and what they found changed their life. Upon returning home, the Durbins made the decision to establish Trash Mountain Project (TMP). TMP is a nonprofit organization that is dedicated not only to making known the affliction of children and families living in trash dump communities around the world, but also to encouraging others to walk alongside those suffering. TMP is currently based in Topeka, Kansas, with 10 U.S.-based staff and supports 41 overseas leaders working in 9 communities across 5 countries.

In addition to his duties with Trash Mountain Project, Brett has served as an adjunct professor at Southeastern University, teaching criminal justice and theology, and regularly consults with other nonprofit organizations in the areas of leadership development, fundraising, and strategic planning. He has received multiple awards throughout his time as the CEO of Trash Mountain Project for such things as creative innovation, leadership, and fundraising.

Elaine Pardee

Pardee served Washburn Rural High School for 22 years from 1991-2013. She was recognized Summa Cum Laude and earned a B.A. in Biology from Washburn University in 1990. She student taught at Washburn Rural in the fall of 1990 and returned to teach full time at WRHS in the fall of 1991.

In her 22 years at the school, she taught Biology, AP Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Developmental Biology, Honors Genetics, Honors Microbiology, Botany, Physical Science, and Developmental Physical Science. Additional responsibilities included Science Department Head, WRHS School Leadership Team, WRHS Site Council, International Baccalaureate Committee, Personalization Task Force Committee, Biology Olympiad, Co-Coach of Science Scholars Bowl, SILT member, and North Central Accreditation Chair. Elaine did all this while still finding time to serve students outside of the classroom. She originated the boys and girls swim program at WR, scheduling practices off-site early in the morning or late in the evening.

2004 Volleyball Team

The team included Lauren (Lawless) Ewald, Jenna (Snook) Cochran, Kaylee Manns, (Bottom Row Left to Right) Jessica McKinley, Kasey Bowden, Sara (Pavelka) Metz, Ashley Moser, Anne Atha, Kalin Johnson, Kelsey (Chipman) Stringer, Nicole (Werner) Heaton, Jill (Gergen) Marballie, and coaches Kevin Bordewick, Nikki (Noe) Gilliland, Tara Griffith, and Stephanie Stratton.

The team's list of accomplishments include the following:
Lansing Tournament Champions
Derby Tournament Champions
Emporia Tournament Runner Up
Undefeated Centennial League Champions
Sub-State Champions (8th straight year)
State Champions (First State Champions in volleyball in school history)
School record for wins (41) at the time.
School record for winning percentage (.932) at the time
Ranked #24 in final national rankings by Prepvolleyball.com