Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation

The Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation is made-up of of parents, community members, and district staff who work together to provide alternative means to enhance, enrich, and expand education programs, which are unavailable via conventional funding, for Auburn-Washburn students.

Board of Directors

  • Angela Davis, President
  • Alex Reilly, Secretary
  • Russ Petty, Treasurer
  • Steven Ballou
  • Keith Blackburn
  • Evan Bounous
  • Joy Glynn
  • April Kelsey
  • Sherryl Longhofer
  • Lori Miller
  • Ken Morse
  • Tim Royer
  • Betsy Scott
  • Chuck Cordt, Executive Director (ex-officio)
  • David Hines, BOE Representative (ex-officio)
  • Dr. Scott McWilliams, Superintendent (ex-officio)
  • Martin Weishaar, Administrative Director (ex-officio)

Auburn-Washburn Foundation Board of Directors

Seated from left is Joy Glynn, Besty Scott, Angela Davis, Sherryl Longhofer, and Scott McWilliams.
Standing from left is Martin Weishaar, Keith Blackburn, April Kelsey, Chuck Cordt, Lori Hutchinson, Ken Morse, Steve Ballou, David Hines, Alex Reilly, and Tim Royer.

Foundation videos

Honor someone with a Foundation gift

Honor someone with a donation in their name to the Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation and help us enhance, enrich, and expand education opportunities in the classroom.

Classroom Grants

The Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation provides classroom grants to educators seeking funds to implement an activity or project in an individual classroom or with a group of students. The Foundation plans to fund several classroom grants up to $1000, but may fund a single project up to $5000. All funds must be used during the school year for which they are awarded.

Funds may be used for any expenses necessary to carry out a project or program except for food, staff salaries, and merchandise used as incentives, rewards, or motivational items.

Applicants may apply as often as they choose. Selection is base on the following criteria, with priority given to new proposals:

  1. Probability of direct, worthwhile impact on students
  2. Demonstration of innovation and creativity, which provides a learning experience not otherwise available
  3. Relationship of project to school/district goals and outcomes
  4. Focus on improving the quality of teaching and learning

In order to be considered, applications must be received by the deadline. See the application form for details.

Message from the Executive Director

I am honored to serve as the Executive Director of the Auburn-Washburn Public Schools Foundation. USD 437 has an outstanding reputation not only for academics, but also for the arts and extracurricular activities which mold each student into a well-rounded person.

I was born and raised in Leavenworth, Kansas, and earned my bachelors and masters degrees from Washburn University. I have compiled over 20 years of fundraising experience at Washburn University, the University of Kansas, the UMKC School of Law, and San Jose State University.

I am thrilled to be back in Topeka and working with the outstanding faculty, staff, and boards in the Auburn-Washburn school district. If you are interested in making our district even better, please contact me to discuss one of the many exceptional opportunities. Nothing is more rewarding than helping educate a child.


Questions or comments may be directed to:

Chuck Cordt
Chuck Cordt
Executive Director
Phone: 339-4061