

Theatre

The Washburn Rural High School presentation of the play, The Book of Will has been selected to for a mainstage performance at the International Thespian Festival in Indiana University.

6A State Champions – Washburn Rural High School



- 4-Speaker Debate Sonya Doubledee, Donna Jalosjos, JiYoon Park, & Zach Willingham
- 2-Speaker Debate Karissa Kromminga & Lauren Reed
- Dance Team
- · Girls Basketball
- Boys Wrestling Team and Individual Champions Aiden Boline & Austin Fager

Spelling

Shawnee County Spelling Bee First Place **Prajeet Akula**, Grade 5, Indian Hills

State Art Competition

State Scholastic Art Competition National Visions Nominee (Best of Show) **Annah Brighton**

Washburn Rural High School

Niche Award

Auburn-Washburn ranked Niche #1 in district in Shawnee County and #5 in Kansas



District Rating

Auburn-Washburn ranked #3 on the Kansas Top 25 list by Ingram's Magazine.



Staff Recognition

2022 Milken Educator Award Ryan Pfeifer Washburn Rural High School Science Teacher

Spanish Teacher



2022 Kansas Horizon Award *Ivan Torres*Washburn Rural High School

Speech and Debate National Champions

Policy Debate Jiyoon Park and Zach Willingham

National History Day

Seven Washburn Rural Middle School students (five projects) qualified to compete in the National History Day.

- Jadyn Barnett and Lucy Hundley with project Mary Church Terrell: Lifting as We Climb
- Sophie Heinen with project The American Plan: The Forgotten War on Venereal Diseases
- Haley Reiff with project Frances Perkins: Making Deals with Great Zeal
- Audrey Appuhn and Campbell Hight with project Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Tree: Penelope Laingen and the Yellow Ribbon Project
- Rebecca Reed with project The Games Must Go On ★

National Merit Scholars

Finalists (top 1% in nation)





Karyna Cheung

Victoria Wagner



Om Watson

Commended Scholars (top 5% in nation)

Donna Jalosjos

Rishiraj Pandya Zachary Willingham

Gorata MacKenzie – African American Program Scholar

Landen Lobatos-Dick – Hispanic Program Scholar

Alex Sanderson – Hispanic Program Scholar

Victoria Wagner – Indigenous Program Scholar

