USD 437 | About 437 | Board of Education | Employment | Staff
Auburn-Washburn USD 437
The Auburn-Washburn School District was created in 1966 as a result of the state-wide school consolidation initiative. Schools in Auburn, Pauline, and Topeka, came together to form Unified School District 437.

Here are a few historical markers for the district:
  • 1966 - USD 437 is formed
  • 1998 - Teachers have computers at their desks for the first time
  • 2001 - Howard Shuler, namesake for the Shuler Education Center, retires after 19 years of service
  • 2001 - Dr. Brenda Dietrich becomes the superintendent
  • 2007 - Bond issue passed, renovation of existing schools & the building a new elementary school.
  • 2015 - Dr. Scott McWilliams becomes superintendent
Each school in Auburn-Washburn USD 437 has its own rich and unique history. To fully understand the history of the district one must understand the history of each school. Use the links below to learn about each school's past.

Elementary Schools Secondary Schools
Auburn Elementary Washburn Rural Middle School
Farley Elementary Washburn Rural High School
Indian Hills Elementary  
Jay Shideler Elementary  
Pauline Central Primary  
Pauline South Intermediate  
Wanamaker Elementary